Picture
Over the years, Ethan has been obsessed with quite a few things. Some have stuck all his life, and some have came and gone. Right now, It's police officers, dogs, and labeling every vehicle he sees. He is very certain that he WILL be a police officer in Charlotte when he grows up, and have a K-9 that goes to work with him in his Ford crown vic k-9 unit. He wants to have 5 or 6 German shepherds and 2 chocolate labs ... 0.0

When Ethan was sitting up, spinning wheels and well.. just about anything that would spin (including himself) was an obsession. He still gets lost in spinning things. He has a few police helicopters, and constantly spins the propellers. He turns his bicycle upside down to spin the wheels.. any of his hot wheels, and toy police cars.. Spinning seems to pacify him. I've read that kids with autism repeat things just because it feels good. I suppose there is something about watching the circles in motion?

Over the years his obsessions have varied.. Thomas the train, antique tractors, Cities and city skylines. Riding things (Flinstone car, wagons, pedal tractors, bikes). He has *SEVERAL* notebooks with every page filled with pictures he has drawn, and stories he has written with them. Some pages are filled with cities that he drew. He has a notebook that has all his favorite cities listed with all their stats. (Number of building, top 10 from the tallest)

I am so fascinated by him.

It fascinates me what my kids are into, what their favorite kind of music is.. And their favorite things to do. I wonder all the time how this is going to reflect on them when they grow up. Will Ethan be a police officer? Will Ellie be a paramedic? I think they both have endless amounts of potential and I don't want to rush their childhood at all... But I can't wait to find out:)





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Jessi Angell and I created this website to help other parents of autistic children by sharing my own experiences.  I am just getting started so please check back from time to time for blogs, discussions, and helpful information.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All