Picture
I'm writing about this because it's something I've been asked about several times in the past. This is for parents with younger kids with special needs that will be entering preschool or kindergarten soon.  I.E.P meetings are very important. Not only do they GREATLY benefit your child, It's also a law. All children with disabilities MUST have a an IEP meeting at least once a year.

I don't agree with a lot of laws, but I absolutely appreciate this one!

An IEP is a written document with an education plan for a child with disabilities. It talks about your child's disability, things they need to learn, services the school will provide for them, and what school will provide the services.

It is *imperative* that you know your goals for your child before going into this meeting. This is going to help you as a parent/caregiver as well as your child. Be prepared! I have been in several meetings and I have a list with me every time. They have to ask you if you have any concerns, or goals for your child. You are your child's # 1 advocate... Remember that:) Also let them know what your goals are for your child's home life. School goals and home goals can definitely intertwine.

You can take pretty much anyone you want into the meeting.. If your child has a case worker, other caregivers, or people who are in the child's day to day life.

In the meeting, there should be at least 1 regular education teacher, 1 special education teacher, someone from the school system (Principle, assistant principle, counselor) And someone who will explain everything you went over and tell you what goals were set. If you agree to all the goals that are set, then papers are passed around for you and everyone that attended the meeting to sign.

You will receive a copy of this plan. KEEP IT. Documentation is important. Keep a special IEP binder. You never know when you are going to need it for other things. If you have any questions, feel free to ask:)






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Jessi Angell and I created this website to help other parents of autistic children by sharing my own experiences.  I am just getting started so please check back from time to time for blogs, discussions, and helpful information.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All